1. Home
  2. Advanced Features
  3. Managing Other Users
  4. Managing User Roles and Permissions

Managing User Roles and Permissions

Introduction

CosmoLex provides a multitude of options for privacy and permissions. We provide a variety of standard roles and restrictions, but you may also make your own customized roles to fit your firm’s needs. This article walks you through the different roles and permissions available.

If you want to learn how to add a user, read more here.

Watch a Video

System-Defined User Roles

CosmoLex provides 5 predefined user roles.

Administrator

The administrator will always be the first or only user of the software. The administrator can create other administrators. This user can see and do everything that the software offers.

Billing Only

This user only has capabilities towards viewing matters. However, this user can manipulate time/ expense cards, and invoices.

Normal

This user has all the capabilities of an administrator, minus a few details. Normal users cannot reopen reconciliations. In addition, these users can only view setup options, and do not have access to the User Management section.

Read Only

This user only has the option to view everything in the program. Creating or editing cannot be done through this user.

Time/Expense Entry Only

This user only has the option to view matters and manipulate time/ expense cards.

Customized User Roles

To create a customized role, first, login as the CosmoLex Admin and go to the Account section.

image1

Once there, click on the User Management tab on the left, then click role tab

Here will be listed all of the roles currently available. either system defined or a customized role.

To edit any of these roles, click Edit.

To create a new role, click Add

In the Add role screen, you need to first enter this new roles name and description:

If you wish to copy the permissions from another role (to save some time) use the copy permissions setting.

This will automatically add the permissions allowed for this copied role.

Below is the permissions screen.

Click the lock to the left of the setting you wish to allow view for that role.

Then check if add/edit, delete or other unique permissions are allowed.

Some permissions are dependent on others. These are explained when hovering over the tool tip icons (?)

Once you are satisfied with this role, click save.When adding/editing a user, this role will now be available.

Updated on June 18, 2019

Was this article helpful?

Related Articles

Contact Our Support Team
Can’t find the answer you’re looking for? Don’t worry we’re here to help!
Submit a Ticket
X
X