Manage Workflows

Workflows allow you to create and group tasks to track the progress of a specific process, such as a real estate closing or a court proceeding.
 
You can:
 
  • Assign tasks to users
  • Assign task due dates
  • Determine task priority
  • Designate whether a user can begin a task immediately, or the task is contingent upon completion of another task.

Watch a Video

Step 1: Add a Workflow

To add a workflow:
 
  1. From the left navigation panel, click Setup.
  2. From the Setup left navigation, click Workflow.
  3. From the toolbar atop the Workflow screen, click Add.
  4. On the Add Work Flow screen, in the Name field, enter a name for the workflow.
  5. In the Description field, enter a description if desired.
  6. Under the Tasks section, locate the Task 1 row.
  7. In the Task Name field, enter a task name.
  8. From the Assignee field’s drop-down, click the user to whom you want to assign the task.
  9. Use the Due in entry fields and drop-downs to enter the number of days, click Before or After, and click the workflow begin date.

    Note

    The system uses the Due in value to calculate the Task Due Date when you apply the workflow to a matter.

  10. From the Priority drop-down, click the task priority.
  11. Repeat steps 7 – 10 for all subsequent tasks.
  12. Take either of these actions as needed:
    • Add a Task
      1. From the toolbar, click Add.
        The system adds a task row.
    • Delete a Task
      1. From the toolbar, click Delete.
        The system deletes the task row.
  13. In the lower right corner, click Save.
    The system saves your workflow and adds it to the Workflow screen.

Step 2: Add a Workflow to a Matter

To add a workflow to a matter:

  1. From the left navigation panel, click Matters.
    On the Matters screen, double-click the matter, or single-click it to highlight it, and then from the toolbar, click Details.
  2. From the Matter Details left navigation, click Tasks.
  3. From the toolbar atop the Tasks screen, click Add > Add Task using Work Flow.
  4. On the Add Task using Work Flow screen, from the Work Flow Begin Date drop-down, click the begin date.
  5. From the Work Flow Name drop-down, click the workflow you want to add to the matter.
  6. In the lower right corner, click Create.
    The system adds the workflow tasks with the appropriate due dates.

Edit a Workflow Task

To edit a workflow task:

  1. From the left navigation panel, click Matters.
  2. On the Matters screen, double-click the matter, or single-click it to highlight it, and then from the toolbar, click Details.
  3. From the Matter Details left navigation, click Tasks.
  4. From the toolbar atop the Tasks screen, click Edit.
  5. On the Edit Task screen, make the changes.
  6. In the lower right corner, click Save.
    The system saves your edits.

Delete a Workflow Task

To delete a workflow task:

  1. From the left navigation panel, click Matters.
  2. On the Matters screen, double-click the matter, or single-click it to highlight it, and then from the toolbar, click Details.
  3. From the Matter Details left navigation, click Tasks.
  4. On the Tasks screen, single-click the task to highlight it, and then from the toolbar, click Delete.
    The Delete Task message reads: Are you sure you want to delete selected Task?
  5. Click Yes.
    The system deletes the task from the matter.

Add a Timecard to a Task

To add a timecard to a task:

  1. From the left navigation panel, click Matters.
  2. On the Matters screen, double-click the matter, or single-click it to highlight it, and then from the toolbar, click Details.
  3. From the Matter Details left navigation, click Tasks.
  4. From the toolbar atop the Tasks screen, click Time > Add Timecard.
  5. On the Add Timecard screen, complete the timecard. For additional information, see Timecard Field Descriptions.
  6. In the lower right corner, click Save.
    The system adds the timecard to the task.

To unlink a timecard from a task:

  1. From the left navigation panel, click Matters.
  2. On the Matters screen, double-click the matter, or single-click it to highlight it, and then from the toolbar, click Details.
  3. From the Matter Details left navigation, click Tasks.
  4. From the toolbar atop the Tasks screen, click Time > Unlink Timecard.
    The Unlink Timecard message reads: Are you sure you want to unlink Timecard for selected task?
  5. Click Yes.
    The system unlinks the timecard from the task.
Updated on April 14, 2022

Was this article helpful?

Related Articles

Need Support?
Can't find the answer you're looking for?
Contact Support